Advisory Board

The Advisory Board of the Polish Platform for Homeland Security was established in June 2015. The role of the Advisory Board is to evaluate and advise on actions performed by the PPBW, including in particular its strategic undertakings.

The Advisory Board of the PPBW currently has 30 members and is divided into three groups.


Advisory Board Members:

  1. Leadership of the following agencies and institutions responsible for the security of the state and its citizens:
  • Internal Security Agency.
  • Government Protection Bureau.
  • National Headquarters of the State Fire Service.
  • National Police Headquarters.
  • National Headquarters of the Border Guard.
  • Government Security Center.
  • Customs Service.


  1. Universities and research institutes participating in the PPHS’s works:
  • Rector of the Stanisław Staszic AGH University of Science and Technology, represented by Prorector for Cooperation Prof. Tomasz Szmuc.
  • Rector-Commandant of the Heroes of Westerplatte Naval Academy, Captain Prof. Tomasz Szubrycht.
  • Rector of the Gdańsk University of Technology Prof. Henryk Krawczyk.
  • Rector of the Poznań University of Technology, represented by Prorector for Science Prof. Joanna Józefowska.
  • Director of the Poznań Supercomputing and Networking Center Prof. Jan Węglarz.
  • Rector of the Poznań University of Economics Prof. Marian Gorynia.
  • Rector of the Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań, represented by Head of the Phonetics Department of the Language Studies Institute of the AMU.
  • Rector of the University of Białystok Prof. Leonard Etel.
  • Rector-Commandant of the Jarosław Dąbrowski Military University of Technology in Warsaw, represented by the Prorector for Development Prof. Mariusz Figurski.
  • Commandant-Rector of the Police Academy in Szczytno Insp. Dr. Piotr Bogdalski.


  1. Persons actively supporting the development of Polish science, state and local and regional government administration, and non-governmental organizations whose knowledge and competences are important for the PPBW:
  • Dr. Artur Bartoszewicz - Warsaw School of Economics, President of the Polish Association of European Union Funds Experts and Assessors.
  • Rev. Prof Paweł Bortkiewicz - Vice Dean for Science and International Cooperation, Faculty of Theology of the Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań.
  • Prof. Zdzisław Dacko-Pikiewicz - Rector of the University of Dąbrowa Górnicza.
  • Prof. Wojciech Filipkowski - Science Director of the European Institute of Internal Security, University of Białystok.
  • Prof. Ewa Guzik-Makaruk - Vice Dean of the Faculty of Law of the University of Białystok.
  • Prosecutor Kazimierz Olejnik.
  • Prof. Bogusław Pacek - a retired Major General of the Polish Army, Representative of the Minister of National Defense for community defense initiatives.
  • Prof. Lech Paprzycki – First President of the Supreme Court, Head of the Criminal Law Chamber.
  • Sebastian Serwiak – Deputy Director of the National Contact Point for EU Research Programs.
  • Prof. Stanisław Waltoś - an outstanding expert in the history of law and criminal procedure, for many years an academic worker of the Jagiellonian University.
  • Judge Anna Wesołowska.
  • Dr. Zbigniew Wrona – Director of the Department of Legal Affairs, Supreme Audit Office.
  • Brig. gen. pilot Dariusz Wroński - President of the Implementation and Production Center of the Technical Institute of the Air Force.
  • Prof. Andrzej Zybertowicz - Manager of the Group Interest Department of the Institute of Sociology at the M. Kopernik University in Toruń.